Saturday, April 1, 2023
HomeSocietyIkeja Engineers to get Second Female Chair

Ikeja Engineers to get Second Female Chair

- Advertisement -

Ikeja Branch of NSE is setting the pace as one of the women friendly Branches of the NSE as it set to unveil another female Chair as 13th Chairman in its 25 year history in person of Engr Mrs Funmilade Akingbagbohun MNSE. She will be taking over from Engr Akin Akintola, FNSE who served the Branch meritoriously for two years.

The event billed to hold at Sheraton Hotel & Towers, Lagos on Friday, November 9, 2018 at 10.00 am will be chaired by the NSE President, Engr Adekunle Mokuolu FNSE. Expected in attendance are Engr Mrs Onyeche Tifase, Managing Director/CEO Siemens Limited and Engr Oluwafemi Akaraki, SSA to Ondo State Governor on Energy and Mineral resources as the Special Guests of Honour. Engr. Ganiyu Sadiq, FNSE, Chairman, Merit Petroleum and Engr Mrs J. O Maduka, FNSE are expected to be father and mother of the day respectively. While HRH Oba Adebisi Rosiji Okubanjo , Obiri of Idobiri Aiyepe Ijebu is the Royal Father of the day. Other dignitaries are expected to grace the event.

Engr Ade Olayinka Akinsanya, Honourable Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure, Lagos will present the Investiture lecture, titled “Enhancement and Empowerment of Engineering Professionalism”.

- Advertisement -

Engr. Ade Olayinka Akinsanya is a highly skilled and experienced Civil Engineer with more than 30 years’ experience in the design and construction of transportation infrastructure with a focus on bridge design and construction. Engr. Akinsanya is an active member of State of California registered Civil Engineer, Council of Registered Engineers of Nigeria.

Engr. Ade Olayinka Akinsanya was sworn-in by Governor Ambode on October 2015 as Honourable Commissioner, Waterfront Infrastructure Development redeployed as Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure in January 2018.


- Advertisement -

Engr. Funmi as popularly called is a senior engineer with Lagos state broadcasting corporation (Lagos Traffic Radio). While on service, she was deployed to build and start a water factory for the corporation (Radlag Water Ltd). As the pioneer project manager and the co-coordinator of the factory, she managed over 40 members of staff and distributors all over south west. She served as a supervisor and consultant for several engineering projects. her hard-work and dedications have yielded several awards within the organization; among them are the outstanding staff of the year, and the overall best staff of the year.

Her unrelenting passion to serve is extended to her primary constituency, Engineering which she has served in many capacities over the years. From Nigerian Society of Engineers, to Nigerian Institution of Engineers, Nigerian Institute of Builders to Association of Professional Women Engineers in Nigeria, Engr Akingbagbohun have left her mark as she selflessly contributed her quota when called upon.

She was nominated for the skill acquisition program organised by Lagos state employment Trust fund and supported by UNDP to create employment for engineers. She was nominated to serve on the committee for affirmative procurement for women in business organised by United Nations.

She is a member of Association of Professional Women Engineers in Nigerian, APWEN. She is a member of the society for Women Engineers (SWE), Member of the American Society for Mechanical Engineers (AMSE), alsothnational treasurer of the Association of professional Women Engineers of Nigeria (APWEN).

- Advertisement -

A dedicated professional, she also find time to serve God in various capacities; She is Happily Married and blessed.

Past Chairmen of the Branch are:

  1. Late Engr. (Dr) Ralph Adeola Alabi, FNSE (First Nigerian M.D. and Chairman of Guinness Nigeria Limited)
  2. Engr. Chike Morah, FNSE,
  3. Late Engr. Oludaiye, FNSE,
  4. Engr. Felix Oguamanam, MNSE,
  5. Engr. Ayo Fanimokun, FNSE
  6. Engr. Kunle Adebajo, FNSE
  7. Engr. M. Abiodun Awe, FNSE
  8. Engr. T.M. Olatunji, FNSE
  9. Engr. Mrs. Margaret Oguntala, FNSE
  10. Engr. Bola Akinribido, FNSE
  11. Engr Adeolu Ogundare, FNSE
  12. Engr Akin Akintola, FNSE (Outgoing)

Compiked by Isqil Najim . Follow on Twitter @isqilnajim

Engr Funmi Akingbagbohun elected New Chair of NSE Ikeja Branch

- Advertisement -

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles